Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Meow
11:46 a.m. - 2002-11-10


So yesterday I was having a really pleasant Saturday. I was up at 5:30 to find that he was already gone to the office, so I got up and started sewing. I finished the dress for Jane's mom and started in on the two shirts for me that I had cut out and ready. I sewed until 9:00 and then made a flying visit to Joel's house to deliver the dress. He showed me around to see the little bit of siding the workmen were able to get up before the storm hit. He had put in all new doors and windows and it looks great. I am eager to see what the finished job will look like.

Then I went home and sewed some more until the phone rang. It was EG wanting to know what time the wedding reception for Cousin Randy started. I had to tell her that this was the very first I had ever heard about any reception. This floored her. Shortly afterward he came home, and when told to call EG about the reception, said, "Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you about that." It was now 1:30 in the afternoon and the reception started at 5:00. I had to finish my work, race to the store for a wedding present, wrap the present, wash my hair, find my clothes, wash my clothes, dry my clothes, and get ready, all in three hours. I did it, too.

At the reception, Cousin Randy looked mondo superbo in a tux, and his bride, Theresa, was in her wedding dress. They had been married in Missouri and honeymooned in Switzerland, but are going to live in California in Aunt Flossie's old house. I liked the new bride very much. She is easygoing and peppy and likes crafts. She made the wedding gown out of the skirt of her mother's dress, the bodice satin of Bev's dress, and lace motifs from her sister's dress. The shoes had some history too, but I missed hearing about it. She was very nice, and comes from a Bohemian background, not lifestyle, but her people come from Bohemia. Bev is thrilled, you could tell. I wonder what the chances are of her becoming a grandmother? - inquiring minds want to know.

Bev looked stunning in a navy blue lace long dress with flirty lace sleeves. I was looking at her and thinking to myself how pretty she still is in her seventies, when one of my female relatives leaned over to me and whispered that that is why she (the relative) will not wear short sleeves - a reference to Bev's seventy-year-old upper arms. This was so uncharacteristically catty that I was stunned into silence.

Also heard from EG that the pastor's mother has passed away in West Virginia after a heart operation. This means that he is out of town and Jay gave the sermon today. We were out of there by 11:59. Just thought I'd pass along the good news.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!