Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Crimes Against Humanity
2:20 p.m. - 2003-05-17


Today I had a few errands to run, so Abby and I went out in the old Buick to buy some wedding towels (holy cow, towels are expensive now), take her to the bank to set up an account in the usurious B of A, and to shop at Sears, which used to be good but is now awesome. On our walk to the store, we saw an all too common but horrible sight - a non-skinny, non-teenager wearing a midriff-exposing top with her stomach hanging out over her belt, jiggling as she walked along. Don't these people look in the mirror before they leave the house or is their reality selective?

The fashion industry will have a lot to answer for (in Hell) when called to account. I think that this whole grungy Heroin Chic thing, which was wrong wrong wrong to begin with, has gone on far too long. And why, do you ask? I believe it is because so many of the best and brightest fell to the epidemic, and all our lives are dimmer because of it. Who knows, if AIDS had not claimed so many, cycles of fashion would have come and gone, and we could be in an era of new elegance and suavity, ala Cary Grant and Grace Kelly. Alas, these are only shades of futures lost.

I am waiting at home for him to come back from shopping for Toyota pickups. He is really quite excited about the whole truck thing. It turned out to be almost more expensive to get a used one, since the economy being so bad in this state, sales are everywhere and they are lowering the prices every week for the trucks they want to unload. They don't seem to have any bright red ones, though, which would be my choice. I noticed this sale thing also in Sears, which had some signs that said 80% Off. I tried on a few things, but no luck today. It would be nice to get a few things before this state falls further into the growing cesspool that the fiscal irresponsibility of the ruling party has created. I feel about this the same way I feel about the Peace Riots (!) in SF - hey, you jokers voted for those clowns, so live with it.

As you can tell from the fact that I am not in a car on the way to the Gold Country, he forgot to make motel reservations in time, thinking as he does that the last minute is sufficient, but this weekend is the Calaveras County Frog Jumping Contest. Motels were booked up all the way to Sacramento, so I said why bother spending all that money for a place an hour away. So we will just get up and go on Sunday Morning. Woo Hoo, no sermon!

Jason just called me and says that January has come over for a visit, so I better go over to see her. Amanda was going to come down but he says that she hit a deer last night and broke her front light. Reminds me of that movie, The Staight Story, and the poor woman who had deer trying to commit suicide in front of her car time after time. I better leave a note in case the two truck shoppers come home with something...

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!