Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Yard Work
9:43 a.m. - 2004-03-13


Worked hard this week and now it is Saturday so hoooray. We got a phone call from Abby last night saying that she had gotten back OK from Spring Break, spent at some mountain cabin with her group of friends, so that was good to hear. I didn't have nearly as much fun when I was in college, except for riots and other Berkeley whatnot.

A small group of boys has been coming around, asking to mow the lawn. I like the looks of them, they are about 12 or 13, and are friendly, Hispanic, and enterprising. Offered to wash the car too, but I told them I like it dirty. So they offered to dirty it up more for me. Anyway, when they come back this afternoon, I am going to hire them to mow the front, then ask them if they are willing to do some weeding, because I would really like the flower beds out front weeded. Somehow I don't think kids would be willing to be hunched over dirt doing real hard work, but we shall see. I totally approve of a go-out-and-get-work attitude.

My cousin Phillip, whom I haven't written much about, because it is too sad, is not doing too badly now, considering that they thought he was going to die at Christmas and he is still here. They keep coming up with new kinds of treatments, and his attitude is very good. The new baby is 6 months old now, and that alone is worth staying around for. This is the baby for whom the shower last fall was thrown that January and I attended. Joey, Phillip's mom, sends updates to January, and she sends them on to all of us.

The boys just came back and I have them mowing and weeding. I showed them how to use the "pig sticker" as he calls it, to pry up the weeds. I hate to have the freesia season go by in a sea of weeds, since I love freesias so much. Think I better go cut a bouquet. It is in the 80's today so spring has sprung.

I am going to go watch cooking shows and try to do my ab exercises.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!