Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Radishes, Peaches, and Plums, Oh My
1:13 p.m. - 2004-06-26


It's going to be a hot one today, so I have the AC already on, and I am trying to get my chores done before it is too hot to move, except for my exercises, which I am putting off in true procrastinator mode. I have a big bag of plums and he is going to pick the peaches today, so I have to think of something to do with them. For starters, Abby is going to make peach cobbler tonight, when she tries another new recipe, Parmesan Chicken.

I went this morning and had my hair trimmed, since it was starting to take on a life of its own, and then I went to the Safeway and got some more parmesan cheese. A few years ago my good old Sunbeam food processor died and I was forced to shop for a new one. I decided on a Kitchen Aid, because I have always had one of their mixers, and I have been very happy with it. I gave it a workout this morning, grating up the cheese, then I cleaned out the little freezer (the one on the fridge) and organized it.

After that, I tried to change the sheets on my bed, and got Abby in there to help me flip the mattress. When I was a kid, we never flipped mattresses, so what gives with that? Why can't they just design them all to be strong and long lasting? Back then we used to jump on the beds too, though that was frowned on by the parents, but in my whole jumping career I only wrecked one bed, not too bad a record. I did once jump off of one and break my left arm, but that is another story.

In knitting news, I am moving right along on Abby's cardigan. I started the pattern and have almost finished one repeat. It is very interesting and pretty, though as usual the instructions leave a lot to be desired. I have to try the cables several ways to see what the heck they mean, because what is most obvious is not necessarily what they meant. Abby and I are interested to see how this less expensive yarn holds up with wear and washing. It is Caron Simply Soft and was only about $1.88 for 6 ounces. I remember when Caron was really a cheapy yarn but this yarn seems much better and is very nice to work with. The sweater is just flying along. The only problem with the yarn is that it is a little bit splitty, but not a major problem. The yarn holds the gauge very well, which is good because sometimes I knit tighter than others. And there is no denying that the knitted result is beautiful and rich looking.

When knitting was dying out a few years ago, the yarn pickings around here were very slim, but now that it is on the resurgence, even Walmart is carrying varied and interesting yarns. Too bad I will be years using up my present stock, otherwise I would be out there, checkbook in hand.

I have never had great success growing radishes, but apparently my husband has a radish thumb, because I just pulled up a whole bundle of lovely big red radishes.

Back to work.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!