Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Believe Me If All Those Endearing Young Charms
12:47 p.m. - 2005-01-23


Sorry to tell you, girls, but the Orlando Bloom boy at church, he of the astounding movie star beauty, piercing blue eyes and flowing locks, has completed his transformation into a fairly ordinary-looking young man by cutting off his hair and growing a scraggy beard. Must be a relief to his parents though. We had a different speaker today, the father of the 'gung-ho, youth group leaders' family spoke. And spoke, and spoke. We didn't get on the way until 11:40. I must have slumped in resignation because the spouse gave me the elbow and signaled me to sit up more. I don't see how liking to hear yourself speak on and on is a Christian virtue. It is not as if it is effective either. One could condense the message and be much more effective at getting it across without causing half the audience to fall into a coma state.

I finished knitting the brown sweater this morning and will be doing the hand finishing work this coming week while I watch TV. Now I will work on the Butterscotch cardigan, since I finally got two more skeins of the yarn in the order from Herrschners. It is not the same dye lot, but close enough. If I put panels of cables and/or lace up the front, who is going to notice a very slight difference in dye lots?

In book news, I just finished The Sinister Pig by Tony Hillerman, in which Sargeant Chee finally gets engaged to Bernadette. Here's hoping the author does not kill her off in future volumes like he did poor Leaphorn's wife. Now I am actually reading (NOT a book-on-tape) Risk by Dick Francis, and listening to Daughters of Cain, the first Inspector Morse book I have ever listened to or read.

It is funny how much my wrist hurt when I suspected it might be broken, but now that I know it is not, I don't pay attention to it at all. Such is the power of the mind.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!