Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Timing Is Everything
6:24 p.m. - 2005-09-01


This has been the week from hell, and if I knew it would be so swell, I would have hidden under the bed on Monday morning and would not have come out until Friday afternoon. The recording desk lady had a death in the family and took off a few days, so I had to work the dreaded desk. I survived, not too badly, and was looking forward to an uneventful rest of the week, but today the RD Lady got a phone call that another of her brothers, who was on his way home from the funeral, had a heart attack and is in the hospital. So she may not be in tomorrow either, and the boss is on vacation, and the other girl is sick, so that leaves only me. Of course, it is totally impossible for me to do three jobs at once, so I am wondering what the heck is going to happen.

And here is the weirdest thing: On Tuesday evening, he said he was going to the grocery store to pick up a few items and did I need anything? Yes, I said, bring me a ham steak so I can fry it up quick for dinner tomorrow. When I came home from work the next day, I looked around for the ham steak and couldn't find it in the fridge or freezer. Puzzled, I went out front to water the flowers while I waited for him to come home. Five minutes later, he drove up in the pickup, and as he got out, I asked him where he put the aforementioned ham. Oh, he says, I guess I forgot to get it. I admit, I was a little annoyed. We went into the house while I tried to think of something else to cook for dinner. We were in the back room changing out of our work clothes when suddenly there was a tremendous CRASH from the kitchen. We ran in there and found that the big glass cover for the light fixture over the sink had crashed down into the sink and exploded glass all over the kitchen. In a flash of what-could-have-been, I saw myself standing there peeling potatoes, impaled by millions of glass fragments, which is where I would have been if only he had a better grocery memory. I turned to him and said "Thank you for forgetting the ham steak!"

One more day to get through, then a 3-day weekend.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!