Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday Morning
11:09 a.m. - 2005-11-06


Ah, the weekend. What the heck have I been doing with it? Yesterday I got up and cleaned the bathroom floor and vacuumed up the dust around my chest of drawers (this is shaping up to be a vastly exciting entry), then I cleaned out the lower regions of the fridge. I went to the grocery store and stocked up on veggies, and came home and crammed them into my previously neat fridge. Laundry occupied some of my day, and shopping for seam rippers. I used to have several Clover seam rippers (Japanese) that I liked, but they all disappeared. I confess, I suspected the youngest daughter of absconding with one or two, or maybe I gave her some, but anyway, I had to go shopping for some more. They don't have that kind anymore!! I was forced to buy the new Clover model, which, as it turns out, has a more refined tip and is quite good. A moot point, since as soon as I came home with the new ones, I found two of my good ones. This also happened last week when he insisted we needed more potato peelers. I recently bought new ones, I said, but he maintained that they were gone, maybe accidentally thrown out with the peels (and they were OXO too!). So we went to Bed, Bath & Beyond and bought three more, only to come home and find three identical ones had mysteriously reappeared in the drawer.

I spent the rest of the day making vegetable soup with the middle-aged veggies I had cleaned out of the fridge, and a lasagne with eggplant. I used the George Foreman grill to make grilled cheese sandwiches to have with the veggie soup for dinner. I was very impressed with the result. It makes a sandwich without the necessity of scraping off the black parts, which is unusual for me.

We slept under the Abby quilt for the first time since washing it in the giganto turbo washer. For some reason, it drapes better and does not bend our toes backwards anymore - I think it got softer and lighter somehow, so it is all good.

Today I am going to try my hand at Egg Fu Yung. I have bean sprouts, but right now I am going to dash to the store for water chestnuts. I was watching TV the other day (PBS) and there was a whole hour show about sandwiches of the US. They talked about a St. Paul sandwich which I had never heard of, which can be purchased in any Asian restaurant in that town. It is white bread, a slab of egg fu yung, mayo and maybe tomato. Only costs about $1.20. Sounds fab.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!