Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hard Times and Pasta
7:20 p.m. - 2005-11-29


Poor Jennie at work is having a very bad year. I notice all of her bad times because then I have to take her place on the dreaded desk. This year her brother died, the other brother had heart trouble driving home from the funeral, now her mother fell at home and lay on the floor for two days until rescued, and is now very ill. I had to do the Deskus Horriblis yesterday, and a rotten time was had by all. The boss left early and left me there toiling until almost six o'clock. I was so tired when I dragged myself home that he took pity on me and took me out to dinner. Someone at work had told him about a new Italian restaurant in the old BofA building, where the Asian Noodle Bowl restaurant used to be, so off we went in the pouring rain. The decor of the place was extremely lovely with dark wood wainscoating, old-fashioned hanging lamps, and walls that were painted the most lovely golden color. The whole place seemed to glow with a golden light. The food was fabulous, too. He had Pasta Carbonara, and I had a salad and an eggplant appetizer. For dessert we had Profiteroles, cream puffs filled with a hazelnut scented cream. We will definitely be going back there.

Today the powers that be decided that Meldina should work the stinko desk, and I was back at my own desk. I stayed late to help her finish up though, since the boss left early again. So that was the end of the month day, and tomorrow should be better. Tomorrow we are having the luncheon we won by having the best costumes in the Halloween contest, and they voted to have pasta, not my favorite, but hey, free food is free food.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!