Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Early Spring
5:50 p.m. - 2006-02-28


I bring the strangest food to work. Today, for breakfast I brought a container of fried potatoes mixed with sour cream, cheese and a little bacon, left over from dinner. I heated it up in the microwave and as I was eating it, Meldina gave me a lovely packaged roll from the Philippine bakery where she lives. It was a yeasted roll covered with grated white cheese, savory but a little sweet and totally delicious. I am going to have to see where I can buy myself some more of those. For lunch, I had a piece of the applesauce cake from Have Your Cake And Eat It Too, only I made it with pureed squash instead of applesauce. It is very yummy, I must say. With that, I had an apple and a salmon patty. Weird but good.

Today started out with a full half-circle of a rainbow, which I loved watching on the way to work. This was followed by violent showers, fluffy clouds and sunshine. My boss says she heard that there were tornado sightings in Solano county where she lives, but not, ha ha, where I live. Maybe this is the last gasp of winter, because I am ready for spring.

I was just looking around in Fry's yesterday, when I found a boxed set of the complete works of Jane Austen, from a series done on the BBC about 10 years ago. Of course, I had to buy it. I watched Sense and Sensibility and it is pretty good except that the Eleanor is a little bucktoothed, and the guy who played Edward never really had the spark to make you like him. I am now watching Persuasion, and while the Ann actress looks to be about 40 and has a strange hairdo, the Captain Wentworth is awesome, so I will have to overlook the geriatric Ann. All in all, a good purchase to add to my very small DVD collection.

Can you believe it, I am well into the second sleeve on the cornmeal sweater. All I have to do is finish this sleeve, put on the right button band, and I am done. I really need a small project to carry around with me, especially to Jason's house, so maybe I should knit the spouse another pair of socks. He loves the ones he has and uses them.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!