Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Aftermath
9:07 a.m. - 2006-05-21


Still recovering from the vacation. I was not looking forward to going back to work on Monday, but it turned out to be a quiet and restful week. It is always nice to sit comfortably in the air-conditioned office while the temperature rises outside. Because of all the rain we had this year late into the spring, the allergy season has hit with expected viciousness. I have to wear a mask outside when I am working in the yard or just driving the car. I have never sneezed so much in my life, I am sure. It will take about two weeks for my allergy med to take effect, but at least I have that to look forward to. We are having unseasonal rain this weekend (RAIN in May??!!??) but it is light and helps my seedlings.

I spent the weekend doing laundry and doing laundry and stripping the bed to do more laundry. I have a big pot of beef vegetable soup on the stove, and will shortly go off to church. I was at the Costco this week and saw a lovely Bible case, which I bought and will use. It is not exactly religious looking, but is lime green in a faux alligator. Very peppy looking.

Speaking of lime green, in strange and disturbing sights this week, there was a giant Shrek outside the movie theater waving at passers-by and scaring little kids who were in line for tickets. Somehow, the attractive and likeable Shrek does not translate well to a giant costume (I am talking about 10 feet high). The face was scary, mean and leering all at once. Creepy.

In entertainment news, I got a lot of videos out of the library and am enjoying The Darling Buds of May, an English series from the early 90's. It was Catherine Zeta Jones' first big role. I had seen one or two when it was on PBS, but never could remember when it was on. It is really very entertaining. I especially like the Charlie character.

Today I plan to do more laundry and knit.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!