Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Socks
1:18 p.m. - 2006-08-24


I have been spending my time recently knitting socks for Abby's birthday present. Because she is now allergic to latex, the elastic free socks will be a boon. Because I haven't knit that many socks in my knitting career, I have been trying different methods. I knit top down with a gusset and flap, toe-up with short row heel and figure 8 toe, and now I am doing a toe-up with a strange 'gusset and flap' heel. This sock came out way too long, since I changed the toe method, so I cut the toe off, picked up the stitches and knit a new one. We are trying a variety of different yarns, such as the regular sock yarns, Baby Ull, Bernat Sox, and even Softee Baby with wooly nylon added to heel and toe. I decided to try one on the knitting machine, which is a flat method with one side seam. Abby is very sensitive to seams in socks, so I tried a flat seam, and it turned out very well, I think. This is good, because on the machine I can whip out a pair of socks in one morning. She received the socks in the mail yesterday and gave them her seal of approval.

The new sofa still looks pretty good because I have made an effort not to junk up the living room anymore. Today I thought I had dropped one of the sock needles down the sides of the sectional (with the couch all hooked together, how do you move it to vacuum or whatnot?). I got out the flashlight and looked between all the pieces and under the cushions, but no go. Then I went into the kitchen for a glass of water, and when I decided to take off my sweater, the needle, which had lodged in the sweater somehow, flew off me and under the fridge. This developed into a session with the flashlight and a yardstick to try and fish out the errant needle, but I was at last successful and the needle is back where it belongs.

I finally went to the doctor to see about my exercise weight clobbered knee, and was glad to hear that it is not broken, just lame. Actually, the knee was feeling much better ever since I made the appointment, but after the doctor pressed on it here and there, it decided to go back to hurting , so I am waiting for it to calm down again.

I finished making pickles and relish, then made some pesto and froze it up in these cute little deli containers I got from the restaurant supply place. I also made some corn relish, which I have to admit is not as tasty as it sounds. It is just pickle relish with corn in it. I'm not sure exactly what I was expecting, but that was not it.

On the job front, nothing much is happening, though I have started studying up on some computer programs so I can go apply to some temp agencies in the fall. I think I would rather not be tied to another full-time job, because I might want to take off on vacation now and then if the opportunity comes up. We will just have to see what happens. I must admit that the slothful life, though temporary, suits me fine, however.

On Saturday night, Eric showed up for his own birthday party, even Eileen was there. I was glad to hear that she has a new job, since the jewelry store where she used to work has closed. Auntie M brought down some really excellent potato salad, and I made close to 10 dozen deviled eggs. For once, there were eggs left over. I packed up care packages for Alex to take to Mary, and for several other people to take home. We had BBQ pork, potato salad, green salad, and strawberry shortcake. Wouldn't you know it that the doctor sudden decides to order a cholesterol test for me right after I ate way too much whipped cream at the party, not to mention the ice cream I ate while the hubster was out of town, so the cholesterol came back rather high. Not really too bad though, and everything else was normal. I guess I better eat better for awhile. Amanda has started her nursing training. She seems to feel it is totally the right career for her, following in her mother's footsteps. Alex looks taller and bigger every time I see him, but maybe he stays the same and I shrink.

Feeling the need for entertainment, I think I am going to go to the library and get some videos.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!