Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Trekking
5:54 p.m. - 2006-12-30


Today we did the usual drive up to Sacramento to visit the quilt store in Davis and the bead stores in Sac. Abby found a lot of quilt fabrics at the Pincushion Boutique, home of the Sweet Treat (oh Sweet Treats, how I love your colors!), and we also saw a small owl hopping around the parking lot and flying under our car. From there it was on to the Bead Fetish on L Street, which was conveniently located across the street from the restaurant we wanted to try for lunch. The restaurant was called Crepeville, and it amuses me to see that crepes are coming back into fashion. I had a Mediterranean crepe, which was stuffed with grilled eggplant, peppers, tomatoes, pesto and cheese, so how could that be bad? It was strangely served with country fried potatoes, but until I restart the diet, I am all about the carbs. Abby had a dessert crepe, called the Cinnamon Roll crepe, stuffed with nuts, spices and butter and served with whipped cream. I got to taste this and it was really delicious. The spouse merely had a turkey sandwich. After the L Street store we went to U Bead It, which is out off of El Camino. I noticed that there was a thrift store across the street, so while Abby sat in the car reading, Melissa went into the bead store, and the spouse walked across the street to the WalMart, I went over to see if there were any knitting pamphlets in the thrift store. And I hit the jackpot. There was a bin of pamphlets, and many were from the 50's, 60's and 70's. I bought most of them, 27 in all, for 25 cents apiece. This fabulous haul even included some funny poncho patterns from the fab sixties and a new-to-me Reynolds book that is a collection of early Dale patterns. I already have two of these early Dale books but this was one I had never seen before. So I was happy. I didn't buy many beads because somehow I wasn't in much of a bead buying mood, but I did get some good sock yarn at the Rumplestiltskins yarn shop over on R Street. Abby picked out the color of the Lorna's Laces yarn, a mixture of sherbert colors in pinks and orange, and a skein of Trekking XXL also in pink tones. I have never used either of these yarns before so this should be interesting.

We let him rest all day in the back seat, and we did the driving. The girl in the L Street store says that on Second Saturday they are having a sale on the semi-precious beads, which will be half off. I feel that Melissa and I will have to make another trek up there to the capitol.

Our New Year's Eve plans are the same as usual, try to wake up at midnight to hear the uproar, then go back to sleep.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!