Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

New Office Fan
11:46 a.m. - 2007-06-02


This week I have just been working on the rainbow socks and trying to sew a little. In addition, Abby has been trying to sway me over to liking The Office, since I tried watching Season One last year but was not amused. Now we have decided that watching a show about an office might not go over very well right after you have been laid off from work, but enough time has passed and I am now ready to have a different opinion. And I do. We watched all of Season One and Two, and I watched the season ending episode of Season Three, so can say that it is indeed very funny. My favorite episode is when Jim tricks Dwight into giving a speech made up of excerpts from the immortal works of Hitler and Mussolini for Best Salesman Award and the speech turns out to be a great success.

So, as you can see, I have been immersing myself in intellectual pursuits.

I have started more seeds, mostly beets and flowers, but the nights have been unseasonable cool this year, hallelujah! I am harvesting sugar snap peas and zucchini already, though. I ordered a little cold frame months ago, and it finally arrived in the mail. It has a 'pop-up' mechanism like those laundry hampers or garden hats you see, but turns out to be about 8 ft long. It is going to be great, I can tell, but we need to figure out where to put it. The hubster is going to build a platform out of bricks next to the deck, because heaven knows we have the bricks. It will be lovely to have a nice little greenhouse to house the seedlings. I can get lots of perennials started.

Today Abby is out touring the peninsula with a company rep to find a new apartment. It will be interesting to see what they come up with. Pretty soon I will have both kids settled in their own places and supporting themselves - a parent's dream.

Today was another library book sale. I was able to find the two Harry Potter books that Abby asked for, but no Artemis Fowl, and I found three old knitting books to add to Melissa's library when she has her own place. The selection of cookbooks there was excellent, but I already own most of those titles, or was not interested in the rest, so only got one bread cookbook. All in all, a beautiful, breezy morning in the Sunshine State.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!