Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Last Weekend In July
9:21 a.m. - 2007-07-28


I have already been outside starting some zinnia seeds. Hopefully there will be enough time for them to bloom before the winter gets them. The other zinnias I have out there have done so well and stood up to drought so successfully that I am impressed. Plus, the colors are fabulous.

I have changed my mind about Saturday dinner. Originally I was going to make meatballs and gravy and serve it with ligonberry jelly (we got some at IKEA), but it looks like it will be hot today. Instead, I decided to make pizza, which only uses about 15 minutes of oven time. Abby is coming over today to go to a movie with Melissa. I think they are going to see Hairspray, which is not the movie I want to see. I meant to go see No Reservations yesterday, but I forgot all about it until too late in the day. In addition to the movie, the Joels are redecorating their livingroom and have some furniture and lamps for Abby to look at. She still needs lamps for the apartment so might luck out.

We are going to make each other dressforms with duct tape. I was wondering what to mount them on for a stand, when I remembered the really heavy old standing lamp from Pastor B's estate that I was too quick to donate to the thrift shop. That would have made a great stand. I should go and buy it back if it is still there.

Looks like we are in for another bout of being poor. The slow season causes budget restraints in some years. Luckily, I have a very full freezer and just made a big meat purchase so that is OK. I don't have to worry about running out of yarn or fabric as we all know. I kind of enjoy the challenge of budgeting and getting along with what we have. And goodness knows I have enough applesauce.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!