Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Interesting Weekend
11:11 p.m. - 2007-09-30


The hubster had to go up to Lake Tahoe for a business retreat, and I got to go too. I was supposed to attend several dinners and a boat trip around the lake etc., but things didn't work out the way we planned. I had suspected that I was coming down with a cold, but was feeling pretty good on Friday until we hit the higher altitudes past Truckee. Then as we were walking to the nice restaurant in Incline Village in the very chilly mountain air, everything went downhill. By the time we were back in the hotel, I had definitely come down with a sudden onset cold. Lucky for me, the scheduled boat ride was canceled due to choppy water. I spent the rest of the scenic weekend in the hotel room coughing and shivering. I can't remember any other time in my whole adult life when I was free to laze around while sick. There was always work to do, kids to tend, a job to go to. This weekend I just stayed in a very very plush bed in a room with a balcony overlooking the pool and read books (and coughed). I even got to order room service since I was too sick to leave the room. I had brought two of my library discard books to read, and wonder of wonders, they were both excellent. One was the first Baily Weggins mystery, can't remember the title, and the second was a Joan Aiken book, The Five Minute Marriage, which I really enjoyed. When I woke up on Saturday morning, I noticed that there was about 1/2 inch of snow on the balcony and everything else outside. People were walking around past the pool downstairs in heavy winter gear. By noon the sun had melted most of the snow and people were swimming in the pool and sunning themselves in the deck chairs.

I have to stay home this week and get completely well since there are family birthday dinners coming up, and my dad is not supposed to be exposed to respiratory illnesses. Since I finished the grey sweater on Thursday, I need to start another sweater project. I have the ribbings for the bright green cardigan done, so I should hang that on the machine and get started on some new ribbings.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!