Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Countdown to Stitches Begins
9:37 a.m. - 2008-01-29


We had a surprise day with no rain yesterday, so I walked to the library and back to pick up my last ordered DVD. I was very tired when I got home, but I felt virtuous. My program for lowering my cholesterol is coming along. I have gotten books out of the library and have discovered that I have to:

1. Eat Oatmeal. Not a problem. The spouse fished out my little crockpot which has been languishing in the cupboard for a few decades, and we just load it up with oatmeal the night before, and there it is ready for us in the morning.

2. Eat Flaxseed. Also not a problem, it is easy to grind up in the coffee grinder and put in the oatmeal.

3. Eat Apples. Turns out 'an apple a day' was good advice!

4. Eat the proper margarine, like Smart Balance or Benecol.

5. Eat whole grains. I am already doing that.

6. Walk a lot. I am now doing this.

7. Eat lots of veggies. I am working on this one.

8. Drink lots of water. Working on this one too.

9. Eat Almonds. Yum.

And some more, but I can't recall them at the moment, though I did write them down somewhere.

The spouse was very agreeable to eating the same things as me, though there is starting to be some muttering about things tasting 'healthy'. To help with this, I have a new cookbook, and have ordered the American Heart Association cookbook, and another one called 'The Perfect Light Dessert' which I checked out of the library and decided would be great to own.

In sewing news, I was surprised to find out that Melissa would like some Mexican Peasant tops, too. I found a great pattern at the thrift store, an old Vogue pattern. I want to make dresses, but M wants tops. It should be fun to make some and try out a little hand and machine embroidery. I need to get back to using my fancy schmancy computer sewing machine more. What's the use of having several hundred fancy stitches if you don't use them?

In knitting news, I am still toiling over the Trekking sock, but am halfway to the toe. I need to hang another green ribbing on the machine and get busy with that.

In weather news, I am tired, tired, tired of grey weather and rain, and am ready for Spring. But hey, Stitches is in three weeks!

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!