Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Shrinking
11:00 p.m. - 2008-02-29


I had a doctor appointment today, and had to get weighed on the notoriously 'adds-5-to-10-pounds-to-your-weight' scale. In spite of the scale's cruelty, I was still down 15 pounds! This made me so cheerful that I decided to go to the closing day booksale at the Almond River bookstore. I did not even know they were going out of business until I overhead two people talking in a store this morning. I was able to buy three cookbooks for 50% off the already discounted price. One of the books I found is the Noodle Shop Cookbook, which I have been wanting for years. I would like to be able to make a big bowl of Asian noodles which would be tasty and low-cholesterol.

When I got home, I wanted to make some hummos, and I ended up accidentally making a huge amount. I made one small batch but put in too much salt, so I had to make another double batch and cut down the salt so that I could mix it all together with the salty batch and have everything come out even. I was successful and it is really delicious. I use a recipe that I got years ago from my brother-in-law, Allan, which is much better than most recipes for hummos and interesting because it doesn't call for tahini. Instead of the tahini, you blend sesame seeds with water to make your own tahini. This is much more convenient because I always have sesame seeds but never have tahini in the house. Cheaper too. I wanted to try using apple cider vinegar instead of the lemon juice, since I have allergy issues with citrus, and I was surprised to find that the flavor is excellent and not that different. So that was my big cooking adventure for today.

My seed catalog finally came in the mail, so I was able to complete the seed order. It seems to have disappeared so the spouse must have mailed it.

The only other thing I am doing this week is laundry and laundry and laundry. How can only two people have so much laundry??? I wasn't able to do much laundry while we were getting all that rain, so now I am doing catch-up. I was also going to finish off the blue T-shirt I am making for Abby, but after sewing the side seams, the day got away from me, and I only remembered it at 4:00 in the afternoon when it was too late to finish it before Melissa came to get a ride to BART.

I have no plans for this weekend, since it is tax season and I am in survival mode.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!