Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hobo Bag
8:09 a.m. - 2008-11-21


Melissa wants a hobo bag for her trip to Disneyland, so I have been sewing on it for the last few days. I had some upholstery velvet in a nice dark green that I got out of a sale bin at Home Fabrics, but the pattern envelope called for 1 1/2 yards, and I only had about 3/4 of a yard. I am, however, totally brilliant at the fabric-saving cutout, so I managed to get the pieces cut out. Sewing this heavy stuff is another story, though. You are supposed to wrap a little piece of fabric around the place where the strap starts, but the fabric is just too thick for that. Instead, I finally cut some of the decorative border from the batik I am using for lining, and used that instead (interfaced). It certainly looks better than the lumpy strap start. Lots of hand sewing to get the lining in. I should be able to finish it today.

I found my Opal dark brown sock yarn, and started some Christmas socks for the spouse. He is enjoying his Woolease socks from last year, now that it is cold, so I wanted to give him some in a fine gauge to see how he likes them. Melissa gave me some great yarn in an American flag colorway, so if time permits I will knit those socks up for him too.

Today, being Friday, is laundry day. But then, every day is laundry day. I also have to make some bread, buy some new caraway seed for rye bread making, take my walk, trace the pattern for Abby's blouse, and wash some towels. My life is so exciting. Since Abby will be home for the holiday next week, I also have to fix up the guest room bed. Notice how I am trying to say 'Guest Room' instead of 'Girls' Room'.

Survivor was great last night. The spouse came in just at the end, so I quickly explained about the fake immunity idol. That was a wonderful fakeout, took the poor guy totally by surprise. And he wasn't a bit bitter about it, noooo.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!