Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thinking About Christmas
4:05 p.m. - 2008-12-09


It is sooooo cold here though not frosty at all (though what would I know since I no longer rise at dawn). It was all foggy this morning when I went to Martinez to pick up my order at the antique shop (dumb shop was closed so I wasted the gas) but was sunny in my town. I hung up some towels and tablecloths to dry, and for awhile there it seemed like it was going to work, but I can see that I am going to have to take most of the things down and give them a little dryer time. I am thinking that it is a good day for a soup dinner, and since I have some leftover bacon, it will be a little corn chowder.

Yesterday I managed to get in the entire 5 miles worth of steps that the powers that be say you should be doing every day. So far today I am at only half that, but there is still time left to rack up some miles.

I am working away on the husband's Christmas socks and trying to think of other presents to get for the adults in the Christmas draw. We are limiting ourselves to $10 a person, and I am finding it to be kind of fun to try and get an OK gift with that little money. It calls for creativity and imagination. We could, of course, give the gift of scrumptious baking but all the folks whose names we drew seem to be on special diets of one kind or another. Oh well, I will think of something but I'd better do it fast.

I got some DVDs at the library this afternoon and already watched one while working on the abovementioned socks. It was a pretty good anime - Paprika. Very colorful weirdness. It is sort of hard to knit while watching a movie with subtitles because you have to keep your eyes on the screen. I am finding that knitting man socks is not nearly so fun because the colors my man likes are grey, brown and black unless he goes crazy wild and chooses navy. It is much more fun to knit Abby socks in splendid colors that sometimes form interesting patterns. Also, man socks can have ribbing and maybe a few cables but never ever any lace, and it is hard to see what you are doing in dark man colors.

Well, time to go start some soup and make some buttermilk biscuits.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!