Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Valley of the Wind
3:08 p.m. - 2009-01-19


Finished the first one of a pair of Woolease socks for the spouse while watching a Hayao Miyazaki movie, Nausicaa. I liked it so much that I wondered if they have more of his work at the library, so I logged on, and they do! I ordered 4 or 5 of them. I think I have already seen Princess Mononoke, and several others, and as I recall, Grave of the Fireflies was a real downer, but time will tell if I like the rest.

The spouse has signed us up for some new cell phones. He managed to find a simple model for my dad and myself that should be called The Cell Phone For Dummies because it is very simple and the numbers are giant on the screen. Not too many bells and whistles, no texting, big buttons, my kind of phone. Melissa came over for Sunday dinner and helped me figure out how to charge it and set up the mailbox etc., by which I mean she did it all while I puttered around the kitchen. I'm going to have to read the manual.

We are having very cold nights and lovely days. No sign of spring anywhere yet, heck, the fall leaves are still on some of the trees. Looks like we are heading into a drought year, but you never know until April. Sometimes it is very rainy in March.

Now I have to go spend my exciting afternoon cleaning out the filters to the vacuum cleaner and ironing a bunch of man shirts. All this will be accompanied by the viewing of Alvin and the Chipmunks, my second Netflix arrival, a movie I have always wanted to see, I am ashamed to say.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!