Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Victory Garden
1:34 p.m. - 2009-08-14


Holy Moly, I am sooooo tired. I got up at around 6:00 and suited up to go out and pick the beans. I got a pretty big bag of green beans and discovered that it is a heck of a lot easier to pick the beans off of pole beans than it is to bend over and pick bush beans. After that I watered the yard and came back in to do my baking.

I have a loaf of bread in the breadmaker, because I usually give a loaf to the EGs when they come over. They are coming for brunch tomorrow with Suz, so I also made a loaf of zucchini bread using a monster zuk I found in the yard. Jason asked me to make shortbreads for Eric's birthday dinner this month, so I baked up a bunch of lovely shortbreads and have packaged them up for J's freezer. They are destined to be smothered in strawberries and whipped cream, Eric's traditional birthday dessert. I also picked some beets and tons of cucumbers.

I am ready to cut out a sample blouse for Abby. I was searching through the fabric mountain and it is a little wobbly, so I will have to restack it to avoid an avalanche. It has collapsed before, but I usually have the luck to be out of the room when it falls in front of th ironing board. I did get two new knit tops finished for myself this week, using up some knit fabric that has been in the stash since before the turn of the century.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!