Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Gremlins
5:09 p.m. - 2010-04-12


When you wake up in the morning and are happily reading a good Georgette Heyer book, then hear your husband muttering angrily in the kitchen, you know right away that the day is going downhill. He had opened the fridge and a carton of eggs had shot out onto the rug. The eggs did not survive. Then he started the recently repaired dishwasher only to discover that it is broken in a different way. Before it wouldn't start, now no water will enter it. So I called the repair guy and made an appointment (I think some mean aged dishwasher valve was waiting to die until after my repair guy left last time), then I cleaned the smashed eggs from the floor and fridge shelf.

Later on, I was trying to take the lint out of the dryer lint trap, and the darned thing just would not go back in. I had a stroke of brilliance and turned the dryer on anyway, hoping that heating it up would make the obstruction easier to push out of the way, and that worked. Then the washer got off balance and walked a little. Then I was heating some water and dropped and broke my poor little tea kettle. I think I have had that for 20 years or so.

What is amazing about all this is that some years ago this would have frazzled me but today I am all "Oh well...". You just have to roll with the punches, I guess. Besides, I am not the one who has to wash the dishes.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!