Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Adventures
7:27 p.m. - 2010-07-01


I am so weary. Yesterday I decided to chop down (or rather, saw down) a tree that was shading the garden. I started sawing, then saw that the whole thing grows crooked and leans towards the house, where it would possibly fall and hit the roof. I decided to cut the tree like lumberjacks in old movies do - cut a wedge out of the far side and then saw through the other side so that the tree would fall away from the house. Good in theory, but turns out it doesn't work with leany trees. As I was sawing the side nearer the house, having already cut out the wedge, the tree started to lean even more the wrong way and pinched the saw so tightly that it was hard to saw. That was when I realized I should not have attempted the whole thing by myself, but should have waited until WSP was there. Anyhow, I was then committed and couldn't leave the tree 3/4 sawed in half, so I continued until it started to creak alarmingly, and as it fell towards the house, I gave it a bit of a shove and it fell in a rush between the house and the fence, barely brushing the house with its top leaves. Phew!

Today I had a very busy day, taking the parent to the doctor and for an Xray. When we left the doctor's office, the Great J noticed he was missing one of his glasses lenses. I meant to go back to the Xray department and ask about it, but somehow did not remember. Anyhow, today Melissa and I went to Costco to buy some things for J, and when we got back to his house, he said he had gotten a call from the Xray dept telling him he had forgotten his life alert thingy that he wears. I had to drive all the way back to Nut Creek to get it, and while I was gone, he found his lens in his house, so two things were found in the same hour.

The garden had started a swift growth spurt due to the hot weather and tonight we ate the first big radishes.

In sewing news, I have been tracing patterns and doing the pattern alterations, so no finished items this week. The Year of Abby is over today, and now I can sew for both girls. I am still trying to come up with a pattern for a basic blouse for Ab, because once I get one to fit, I can change the style of it to just about anything. Of all the classes I took in college, one of the only ones that were useful in real life was that fashion design and pattern drafting class. Who knew??

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!