Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sewing Machines
7:55 a.m. - 2010-07-18


I like old sewing machines, most particularly, all metal, gear-driven machines. Recently I have become interested in the attachments and old buttonholers that make such fine buttonholes. The old Singer I got from Mrs. Pastor B had a box of attachments and a buttonholer, and this inspired me to go with Melissa to the thrift store that sells only craft items and look through their old attachments. I have since acquired several other buttonholers and a few boxes of feet.

It is not really peculiar that the sewing machine feet you find in thrift stores and antique malls are in pristine condition because I have been sewing for many years and almost never ever use the feet that came with the machines. I don't know why, but that is the truth. I have decided to try out some of the feet, like the ruffler or the narrow hemmer. I think that using some of those complicate feet requires a steep learning curve, but if other people can master it, so can I.

This next week is going to be a killer, veggie and fruit-wise. The apples are calling out to be made into sauce, and WSP just picked the peaches. Oy vey, so much peeling in my future.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!