Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

What I Want When I Want
5:06 p.m. - 2012-05-16


Getting older is gloriously liberating. You don't have to care about what people think about you, you can dress any old way you want, and you can do what interests you, not what a bunch of selfish people want you to do. I have noticed through life that people who are not related to you, who ask you to do things (chair this committee, make me this dress, address these envelopes, hem these pants, etc.) are only thinking of themselves. They don't really care one bit about you at all. If you tell them you are too tired, busy, or whatever, they come up with more reasons why you should do it anyway. They don't care that you will hate doing it, and that it will suck all the joy out of your life. So you should learn to say no. I did, and it is great. When someone asks me to do alterations, I say no, I hate doing that. They say, oh, it will be a small job, and I say, no, I hate doing that. They say, they will just leave the garment with me and I can get around to it when I feel like it, and I say no, I hate doing that. 'No', it works every time it is tried, as long as you really mean it.

This concept is helping me in my sewing, too, so that it doesn't end up a thankless chore. Today I finished up altering a pattern, and started in on another one. I realized that I was taking on a big job with that pattern which needed design work and seam changes and all kinds of hassles, so I carefully folded up the pattern and put it back in the envelope, because I don't feel like doing that right now. Instead, I worked on the design for a new sunbonnet for me. I have been putting pictures of vintage bonnets on Pinterest to give me ideas. Usually I wear a hat in the garden, but it occurred to me that a sunbonnet might be more comfortable. It would also protect the back of my neck. I got the first bonnet cut out and will start sewing it shortly.

The garden is almost dug up, so it is time to put the plants in. Right now, though, I'm going to go sew on the sunbonnet and watch a video.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!