Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Decluttering and Destashing
8:36 p.m. - 2014-05-25


Holy cow, that was one horrible, long, tiring job, cleaning out the sewing room and putting in the new/old shelves. I have soooooo much stash. I was ruthless, though, and cleared out masses of patterns, fabric, and other craft items. If I haven't used it in 30 years, chances are I won't. Also, the 80's and 90's are not coming back into style, at least not in my house, so I felt free to donate all of those patterns. About 4 boxes of patterns left the house. We made a drive to the craft thrift shop in Sebastopol with a huge donation. The girl at the counter called my patterns 'vintage', which made me feel old. It was half-off day at the thrift shop, but I was so tired of sorting and storing stuff that the idea of shopping was not pleasant.

After that, I spent a week organizing and going through cupboards and amassing another huge pile of donation patterns and fabric. I had some truly truly ugly fabric in those cupboards. It didn't seem ugly when I bought it decades ago, but maybe fabric beauty fades with time. This opened up lots of room in the cupboard for all the good fabric which had been in piles around the sewing room, so all the fabric is stored now.

Once this is completely done, it will be a long while before I tackle two big jobs like that one after the other. I just want to sew and knit and I am tired.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!