Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

My Big Fat Saturday Evening
7:10 a.m. - 2002-09-15


The inlaws have sold their big home and have bought a place in Rossmoor, the upscale retirement community in the next town. Unfortunately, they have picked a moving date when two thirds of their children will be out of state for various reasons. Apparently, the unit is in good shape and does not need any work, and the only complaint my mother-in-law has is the kitchen wallpaper.

We had a dinner last night for the 80th birthday of my father-in-law. It was held at an Il Fornaio restaurant, which has branches in many cities, but was very nice nevertheless. It had a hearth oven and spit roasting. I love hearth ovens, but not enough to own one and hunch over the blasting heat shoveling food and baking in and out. They also have a very interesting Italian menu. I was wondering what to order and was leaning toward the Gnocci with Pesto, when my sister-in-law told me she loves the Ravioli stuffed with butternut squash in a creamy tomato-based sauce with garnish of fried (like tempura) sage leaves. So I ordered that, and it was very good. Who would have thought that fried sage leaves would be very tasty and good? The brother-in-law and wife had recently been to the local Greek festival, this year humorously titled My Big Fat Greek Festival. They said the festival part was rather lame, but they had food booths galore and the food was fabulous beyond compare. So they said we should go next year. After dinner we stood around outside in the beautiful cool evening air waiting for the brother-in-law to come out, but alas, he was under the impression that his wife was in the ladies room and was waiting inside for people who never emerged from the LR door, so my husband had to go in and pry him out. After goodbyes were said, we walked to the bookstore and bought nothing, since looking at cookbooks when you are completely stuffed with Italian food is not as appealing, and then we went to Andronicos, the chichi market with the world's most expensive produce. Who on earth would pay almost $2 a pound for zucchini in the middle of zucchini season? That was the only time in my life I have seen produce (cherry tomatoes) crawling with fruit flies in a market, so chichi is not everything.

Today he is going to stain the deck, having scrubbed it to perfection yesterday. I saw him out there scrubbing in the noonday sun and asked if he had on sunscreen, and of course he had forgotten. I see why it is that unmarried men have shorter lifespans. I am curious as to how sore his muscles will be today since he was bent over scrubbing for quite a while yesterday.

I am going to sew today, and maybe make some bread.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!