Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Preparing For Winter
3:46 p.m. - 2006-10-04


Yesterday I had to wait all morning for the PG&E guy, and when he arrived he talked nonstop until the minute he left. However, he did give me some useful info, and nothing was wrong with my heating system. I have this check done every year, and it makes me nervous every time, I am not sure why. Anyhow, after that I decided I would take it easy, but the dentist called and told me it was time for my yearly visit. I had to go in this morning at 8 am, but at least I don't have to go back for a year. I lucked out in the tooth department, in that I have never had a filling or any problems, so I don't have to see the dentist more than once a year. For which I bow down and give thanks. I just do not understand how scraping the heck out of your teeth can be good for them, and then your mouth hurts all day.

While enduring the PG&E talkathon, I was making lentil soup. I used my Italian Soup cookbook, and the soup was unusually good. I have used this book a lot so should give the full title: Good & Garlicky, Thick and Hearty, Soul-Satisfying, More-Than-Minestrone Italian Soup Cookbook, by Joe Famularo. I made the Home-Style Lentil Soup. I only altered it by adding a little Italian seasoning and thyme.

I have finally gotten started with sewing again, not that I have actually sewed anything, but at least I started. I have a very nice blouse pattern, all altered to fit, but I wanted it to have 3/4 sleeves, so that is what I did today. In between watching Inspector Morse, I created a pattern and am all ready to cut out a practice shirt. I am going to start by making a lime green crinkle cotton shirt, for the important reason that the lime green fabric was out where I could grab it. If the pattern works out, I will make a blue green satin blouse for evening wear.

In knitting news, I am working on the Must Have Cardigan. I still have one Regia sock to finish, but right now I am just not interested.

In closing, I will just ask, what is with all those missing brains in Heroes??

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!