Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Spring is Here I Hear
11:06 a.m. - 2007-02-22


A week of knitting! I have the light fuschia sweater pieces all knitted, with lace borders on the body and sleeves. I was in a design quandary about what kind of collar to put on it, but the truth is that I do not want to knit that particular lace border anymore ever, since the multitude of twisted stitches was a literal pain. I am going to put a garter border up the front and around the neck, and call it a day. There is a little garter in the border so that should be OK. I find that I am getting better at setting in the set-in sleeves by the Japanese method of crocheting them together, just have to experiment with ways of handling the underarm seaming.

This weekend is Stitches West. Auntie M is coming down and we will be off to Santa Clara. Melissa has given me a list of sock yarn to try and nab for her, since they sell out fast and she can't go the first day. I have never been to Stitches two days in a row, so I am looking forward to it. I don't have anything in mind that I am looking for, but I always like to look over the books, patterns, and needles. It is like having a knitting shop the size of a football field.

In weather news, Spring has sprung. The almond trees are blooming in all the yards and creekbeds, other trees are starting to bloom, and the daffodils are nodding their yellow heads. Time to send in my seed order.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!