Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

The Core of The Matter
4:03 p.m. - 2007-07-26


I am sooo tired. I knew that today was apple day so I spent hours at the sink peeling, coring and chopping apples. In the middle of the process I got to thinking about the apples, lovely perfect green apples, left on the tree too high to reach. I went out back, after putting the applesauce on to simmer, and hunted up the four-pronged curved-hook garden cultivator thingy with the long handle. I got the little ladder (no way am I going up on the BIG ladder without the husband there to hold it) and, reaching up with the garden implement, I managed to snag and get loose most of the remaining apples. They fell to the ground, one by one, and I gathered them up. Then I had another whole big mounding sinkful of big apples to process. I just finished after standing at the sink for about 5 hours. I have two gigantic stockpots full of applesauce to add to the 20 or so pints I have already frozen. Somehow, I don't think we are going to have to buy apples in Sebastopol this year. Maybe it is time to invest in one of those apple corer, peeler gadgets. I will have to look up reviews and see if they are worth it.

I finally started the grey sweater. I knitted the ribbing, put the side portions onto holders and now am knitting the center panel. I saw a picture of a sweater that appeared in Interweave Knits this spring that interested me, with lace on the bottom portion, rib in the middle, etc., and now I am going to have to find that issue. I should really get more organized about my issues, I tend to leave the newer ones around in various places. I am going to go see if I can find it.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!