Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Lost and Found
7:17 a.m. - 2009-03-05


We recently signed up for a new cell phone package family plan which includes the spouse and self, Melissa, and my dad. Melissa got a modern jazzy hip cell phone, but we asked for a simple one. And simple it is, except that the manual is stupid beyond belief. I think there should be pages with clear charts like recipes, showing how to, say, recharge it, program your voicemail, record your message, etc. Of course, I just had Melissa do ours, but something was wrong with my dad's and we couldn't get the voicemail to work.

I took the phone back to the store, and the helpful guys fixed it up for me. Then, all that was left to do was to record his message. I could not find how to do it in the manual, and was totally stumped, but nothing new there. I would have had Melissa do it, but she had a meeting to go to this week and was unavailable. I was over at my dad's house last night and the J's were there too, and when the Bean got out her sparkly little cell phone to look at it, I asked her if she knew how to program a phone. She said she did, so I handed her my dad's phone and she had it all set up in no time flat. I don't know why it is so easy for the kids, they just seem to instinctively know how the things work.

When my dad was trying to figure out how to program his phone, he mislaid the manual. Melissa was over there trying to help him, and they looked high and low for the thing, but it had gone walkabout. I brought my copy over for them to look at, and we thought his copy was gone forever. I looked the manual up online and printed him out a copy, all 80 or so pages of it, found an old binder, and made him a new rather large manual. When I took it over to him last night, within 5 minutes I found the old one under a bag of cookies on the dishwasher.

The sun'll come out tomorrow, bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow there'll be sun, or so the weather folk say. I am tired of the gloom and rain. It has been raining hard for a whole month, yet there is still drought talk. We'll probably have floods and they will still talk drought.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!