Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Beautiful Day
10:25 a.m. - 2004-04-18


We left about 8:15 in the morning and drove through the cold morning air, heading north. Craig had given us a book on tape to listen to, The Summons by John Grisham, but before starting that, we just enjoyed the beautiful morning for awhile. We got to Red Bluff in record time, it not being as far away as he thought, and yesterday was the day of the Round-up, a three-day festval with a parade, rodeo, and other stuff. They had the whole town blocked off for the parade, but we were starving so we went through back streets until we found a place to park by the railroad tracks. We walked into the downtown area looking for a place to eat. We found a nice cafe called "Etta's Place", just the kind of main street place we like, and I had grilled cheese and he had a giantic omelette with massive hash browns.

Back on the road, we decided to go off the highway and strike out across country to Shingletown. It was nippy with large puffy clouds and thunderheads in the sky. the scenery was lovely, and as we headed over the hills to Shingletown, we went through a patch that still had snow on the gound and flurries in the air. There is not much to Shingletown, but the library was open, so we talked it over and decided that I would wait in the library, then go down to the quilt store or pizza parlor, where he would find me after he met with the clients. I read in the library for awhile after he left, then walked down the road to the small quilt store, and happily chatted with the owner for awhile. I told her to tell my husband that I was in the pizza place, and off I went. I ordered a calzone, never having bought one before, and just as it arrived, hot and steaming, and huge, he drove up, came in, and we split it. After that, we were free to do what we wanted, so we decided just to drive home and stop for dinner in Winters at the old Buckhorn, where we had gone for a date or two in the ancient past.

He napped in the car while I drove several hours through sprinkles, downpours, beautiful rainbows, and lovely scenery, avoiding stupid drivers and lots of huge trucks. Went we got to Winters, the old town was having a hot Saturday night and the wait at the restaurant was over an hour, so we went across the street to the Putah Creek Cafe, a really pretty little place with good food, and much cheaper. Then he drove home, and I arrived in time to watch one of my Japanese shows.

All in all, one of the most beautiful days I can ever remember.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!