Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Jungle Red Claws
5:55 p.m. - 2004-05-21


I am sitting here at the computer looking up at the shelf in the computer nook, and I see the infomercial Sushi Maker I got on a whim a year or two ago. I haven't really used it yet, but I should apply my ample brain to the problem of creating some use for it that does not involve nori or Asian ingredients, because he does not fancy those (even though I do). Let's see, I could make Mexican Sushi with a tortilla, red rice, and cheese and burrito filling. Not that it would be any different from burritos, but things are more fun in different shapes. This made me think of the Egg Cuber (which squeezes a hot hard boiled egg into a cube) that I got at Bloomingdales over 20 years ago. It is a frivolous little thing, but I still have it up in the cupboard, and it makes the eggs more tasty, because it forces the white into an even layer all around the egg, and there is an even amount of yolk in every slice.

I am trying to decide what to do this weekend besides thinking about sushi and square eggs. I have a blouse I was sewing that probably just needs the side seams and hem, maybe I will finish that. I stopped at the library on the way home from work and checked out a few videos. My husband did not waste his youth glued to the black and white TV screen like I did, so he is not familiar with all the old classic movies. With this in mind, I got North By Northwest with Cary Grant, because it is easy on the eyes (mine) and still has an exciting plot line. I remember when we first got a VCR (years after everyone else we knew) and I rented an old movie from the forties. I was thunderstruck to see how clear and sharp the picture was - I was so used to the terrible TV reception we had in the days before cable, that I thought all black and white films looked like that. It was a Norma Scherer movie, "The Women", I recall. I also remember how the concept of cable TV was so strange back then. The idea of paying for something free like TV was unthinkable. Now we are all hooked up to everything and enjoying it mightily.

He just came home, so time to dish up the dinner.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!