Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Math Completed
1:51 p.m. - 2007-08-05


Abby offered to help me with the math for the new sleeve, but all I needed was the ability to do square roots, which my simple calculator does not do. I sorely miss my old slide rule (and the memory of how to work it). I found a website that does square roots, but it was difficult to access since the spouse was monopolizing the computer to do his work (can't argue with that). He showed me the ad in the paper for Office Depot and told me to go buy two calculators so I would always have one. So I did. Now I am the Queen of Square Roots.

Finished charting the new narrow sleeve for Melissa, who prefers style over comfort, though would be pleased with both. We shall see. Now that I have finished the knitting portion of the grey sweater, I need to get started on a new one.

It was beastly hot this week, over 100 yesterday, so I left the AC on at bedtime instead of turning it off as usual. I woke up at 1 a.m. to the sound of howling winds, which means the blessed fog has come in. Today is overcast and cool, and we are loving it.

We went to the Peddler's Faire in Martinez yesterday morning while it was still cool and walked around looking at the booths. I found a great pamphlet printed in 1943 on how to decorate your house . The color illustrations are great, drawings instead of photos. I also got some old sewing patterns from the 40's and 50's. After that, we puttered around awhile until Melissa came over, and then we all went to the movies to see The Bourne Ultimatum. This is a great movie except for the self-consciously arty camerawork that is so jumpy that it was making me queasy. I can just hear those Hollywood types telling each other that the camerawork was 'edgy'. I don't think it is a good plan to make your audience have to run for the restroom because you made them seasick. Kind of detracts from the story.

Today, being cooler, I am boiling up a whole chicken for Sunday dinner. I am still deciding what to do with it, Chicken and Dumplings, Potpie, or Chicken Burritos. I already made homemade chocolate pudding from my mom's old recipe.

previous - next




about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!